Shared Spaces

Introduction

Shared Space is a new feature in BluInsights in which you can securely share source code, documents, and any other files with your colleagues and customers.

Upon accessing Shared Spaces, you will have access to list of Shared Spaces created by you or in which you are invited. If you haven’t created or been invited to a shared space, the list is empty.

 

Create a Shared Space

When you are ready to create your first Shared Space, click on New button and select Space.

Creating a new Shared Space requires only a valid name, i.e, it must not be empty, contain special characters or be already used for another Shared Space created by you or in which you are invited.

If you wish to share your space with others, first check the switch for Share. Then you should type in the first email, press Enter, type in the second email and so on.

An email in the emails list can either belong to an existing user of BluInsights, in which case they will receive a simple email notifying them of your invitation. Or to new potential users, in which case they will be asked to register first.

If you need to delete an email from Shared With list, use backspace or simply use the x icon associated to the email.

When you are satisfied with your Shared Space configuration, click Save or press Enter.

Congratulations, you have just created your first Shared Space on BluInsights !

 

Upload Content to a Shared Space

First, click on New button and then click on Upload

Next, choose your Shared Space, and then simply drag and drop the files you want to share or choose them via your file system.

After you have selected the Shared Space, a small info message is shown to remind you of the people your content will be shared with.

N.B: Uploads are limited to 2GB per upload. So you may get an error message if you have exceeded that size.

 

Manage your Shared Spaces
Edit a Shared Space

Select the Shared Space you want to edit and click on Edit from the options shown.

The shown dialog is similar to the one you used to create your Shared Space.

 

Delete a Shared Space

Select the Shared Space you want to delete along with all of its files and then click on Delete.

Your space and all the files in it will be deleted after you agree to the confirmation message.

Delete some Shared Space Files

You can delete only some files that belong to the same Shared Space. To do so, select the files you want to delete, and then simply click on Delete.

Your files will be deleted once you agree to the confirmation dialog.

Download content from a Shared Space
Download an entire Shared Space

To download your entire Shared Space, i.e all the files uploaded into the Shared Space, you need to select the Shared Space and all the files (or just double click on the Shared Space checkbox) and then simply click on Download from the options shown.

Once your download is ready, you will be downloading a ZIP file named after your Shared Space.

Download some Shared Files

To download particular files, just check them and click on Download.

N.B: This feature only applies to files belonging to the same Shared Space.